Welcome to our website!

Welcome to our website!

Welcome to our website!

UMaine senior named to America East preseason basketball team

University of Maine senior guard Sigi Koizar has been named to the America East Preseason All-Conference team.

The two-time all-conference, first-team selection finished the 2015-16 season ranked third in the league with 17.7 points per game. She scored in double figures 32 times and had 14 games of 20-plus points.

Koizar ranked in the top 10 of nine different statistical categories, leading America East in 3-point percentage (43.4) and 3-point field goals with a UMaine single-season record at 85.

The other preseason all-conference picks were Imani Tate of the University at Albany, Imani Watkins of Binghamton University, Deanna Mayza of Hartford and the University of Maryland Baltimore County’s Taylor McCarley and Pandora Wilson.

Story continues below advertisement.

UMaine men name captains

Senior Garet Beal of Beals Island and juniors Aaron Calixte and Garvey Melmed of Milford have been voted as the captains of the UMaine men’s basketball team by their teammates.

AE preseason men’s team named

Five returning all-conference selections from six different America East teams make up the 2016-17 Men’s Basketball Preseason All-Conference Team.

The team was determined by a vote of the league’s nine head coaches, who were not permitted to vote for their own student-athletes.

New Hampshire’s Tanner Leissner, the lone returning first-team, all-league choice, highlights the squad that includes Albany’s Joe Cremo, Binghamton’s Willie Rodriguez, UMBC’s Jairus Lyles, UMass Lowell’s Jahad Thomas and Vermont’s Trae Bell-Haynes.

Husson golfers honored

Husson University sophomore Daulton Wickenden of Rockport has been named the North Atlantic Conference Golfer of the Year.

Maine Maritime Academy’s Luke Olson of Charleston was tabbed the Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year, UMaine at Farmington head coach Bob Timmins was voted the Coach of the Year and Johnson State sophomore Austin Walters earned Rookie of the Year accolades.

Joining Wickenden on the All-Conference First Team were Husson sophomore teammates Mackenzie Clow and Philip Thome, Castleton senior Zachary Temple, UMF sophomore Eric Aguiar and Salem State senior Chad Alibozek.

Second-team honorees included Husson sophomore Taylor Morang of Winthrop, Johnson State sophomore Kiley Moody, Maine Maritime sophomore Erich Klopfer, Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts junior Matt Lawrence and Salem State junior Ryan Swart.

Wickenden captured medalist honors at the NAC championship held at the Bangor Municipal Golf Course, posting a two-day score of 141 to win by three strokes.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *