Welcome to our website!

Welcome to our website!

Welcome to our website!

Meetings set on towns' request to leave RSU 10

PERU — The first of five informational meetings on a request by four towns to leave Regional School Unit 10 will be held at 6 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 20, at Dirigo Elementary School.

The Maine Department of Education has approved an agreement for Canton, Carthage, Dixfield and Peru to form a new district, if voters agree.

Residents will decide the issue at the polls Nov. 8.

Other informational sessions are at 6 p.m.:

• Oct. 11 at the Canton Town Office;

• Oct. 13 at Dirigo Elementary School;

• Oct. 17 at the former schoolhouse in Carthage; and

• Oct. 18 at Dirigo High School in Dixfield.

The four towns previously comprised School Administrative District 21, which merged with SAD 43 in Rumford and SAD 39 in Buckfield in 2011 under the state-mandated school consolidation law.

Withdrawal efforts began more than a year ago when some Dixfield area residents said they believed reforming the district would lower costs.

Other towns in RSU 10 are Rumford, Mexico, Byron, Roxbury, Buckfield, Sumner, Hartford and Hanover.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *