Welcome to our website!

Welcome to our website!

Welcome to our website!

Androscoggin and Oxford county farmers eligible for emergency loans

WASHINGTON — The U.S. Department of Agriculture  has designated Androscoggin and Oxford counties as primary natural disaster areas due to losses caused by a recent drought. 

Farmers and ranchers in Cumberland, Sagadahoc and York counties also qualify for natural disaster assistance, according to the USDA

“Our hearts go out to those Maine farmers and ranchers affected by recent natural disasters,” said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. “We’re also telling Maine producers that USDA stands with you and your communities when severe weather and natural disasters threaten to disrupt your livelihood.” 

All eligible farm operators in the designated areas are eligible for low interest emergency loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA), according to the USDA.

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration — Sept. 29 — to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. 

The FSA has non-emergency programs that can provide assistance, but do not require a disaster declaration:

Additional information is also available online at http://disaster.fsa.usda.gov. 

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *